đź“ť Here's Why You Should Maintain Your Relationships

Relationships are the most powerful thing.

I lost my biggest client in an instant on Memorial Day to no fault of my own. They let go of 100% of their staff at 8pm on Memorial Day.

Yup. At the end of a long weekend, without warning, the company pretty much ceased to exist and my contract.

A very stark reminder that even if you think the company you work for is stable, it might not actually be.

As a contractor, I was shocked and relieved at the same time. I don’t rely on the company for anything other than paying my invoices. (Which is big, but at least it’s not a 401k and my health benefits as well.)

But even amongst all that chaos over the past few days, I was able to start reaching out to friends and leads to start scheduling new work.

This is a reminder that maintaining relationships with people in your field and friends can allow you leeway to not get too nervous when a job falls out.

A big contract falling through will create stress no matter what, but there are things you can do to help mitigate the fallout and keeping up with relationships outside of your workplace is one of them.

It’s wild to go from having work one instant to none the next, but remember that you are not your job. You are so much more and you have capabilities, you just need to find a way to sell yourself for them.

This memo is a cautionary tale and a reminder that nothing is permanent. Don’t get complacent, keep moving forward.

Until next time,

Andrew

P.S. Thank you all for being a part of this newsletter. Let me know what other topics you’d like me to touch on by responding to this email.s